The Kakous

Under creation

The inhabitants, in certain latitudes of the world, tell that colossal creatures, that they named Kakous, lived among them. Of enormous size, a long neck and imposing legs, neither bird nor reptile. Legends also tell that the Kakous were generally docile creatures but somewhat pretentious...

Perhaps they are among the fantastic bipedal creatures described by the famous cryptozoologist Ivan T Sanderson during one of his many expeditions? What happens when the myth becomes reality ...? Some giant bipeds really did exist, such as the New Zealand Moa, Argentina's Titanus Tuyango or the Madagascar elephant bird.

The sudden change in the Kakou's supernatural habitat forced them to venture into unknown, sometimes urban and arid areas, and to break their voluntary isolation. What future awaits them? Will they experience the same tragic fate as their distant cousin the Dodo?

kakouuuuu ... we hear them, kakoukakou ... they are approaching, kakouuuuu ... where are they going?

The kakous is a show on the move, fragmented into three acts (prologue, journey, epilogue). Using the technique of inhabited puppets on stilts, we bring these colossi to life and provide the audience with small, fun and thrilling moments, the time to tell this non-verbal story. A show that tells us a story of survival, migration and extinction ...

Concept, production, direction and interpretation. Helijalder Capristano & Laetitia B. Canniccioni

IMG_7105_edited_edited.jpg

Imagicario stilts

These particular stilts have been conceptualized by us to conform to the actual shape of animal paws. We wanted to break the traditional verticality of stilts so that they become an integral part of the Kakous and not a dissonant visual element.

IMG_7305(Edited).jpg

To see more photos and videos,

check out our instagram page .

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

©2020 par imagicario

Les Kakous

Marionnette habitée sur échasses

Les cavités souterraines géantes où vivent habituellement Les Kakous ont été perturbées par un changement soudain de leur écosystème. Contraints de quitter leur habitat insondable, ces deux bipèdes géants s'aventurent dans des zones inconnues, parfois urbaines et arides. Quel avenir les attend? Vivront-ils le même destin tragique que leur cousin éloigné le Dodo…? Faites quelques pas dans l’inconnu et accompagnez Les Kakous dans ce voyage incertain et improbable.


Utilisant la technique de marionnette habitée sur échasses, ces colosses prendront vie et nous ferons vivre une rencontre à la fois ludique et inquiétante. Un spectacle en déplacement constant inspiré par la cryptozoologie et une biodiversité fictive.

Concept, mise en scène et interprétation .  Helijalder Capristano, Laetitia B. Canniccioni

Réalisation des marionnettes . Helijalder Capristano, Laetitia B. Canniccioni & Atenu Sandu

Musique originale . Maël Oudin

Intégration lumineuse et programmation. Daniel Freder

Photo : JF Savaria

JFSAVARIAxLESKAKOUSxQL (1)_edited.jpg
C5F36B1D-7B67-4CF0-86C8-6191A1F3C812_edi

Les Kakous font-ils partie des fantastiques créatures bipèdes décrites par le célèbre cryptozoologiste Ivan T Sanderson lors d'une de ses nombreuses expéditions? Que se passe-t-il lorsque le mythe devient réalité...? Certains bipèdes géants ont réellement existés, tel que le Moa de Nouvelle-Zélande, le Titanus Tuyango d’Argentine, et l’oiseau-éléphant de Madagascar.

Photo: Sophie Lavoie
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: Sophie Lavoie
press to zoom
Photo: JF Savaria
press to zoom
Photo: Sophie Lavoie
press to zoom
1/1

Des échasses
imagicario

Ces échasses particulières ont été conceptualisées par nous afin d’épouser la forme réelle de pattes d'animaux. Nous voulions briser la verticalité traditionnelle des échasses afin qu'elles deviennent une partie intégrante des Kakous et non un élément visuel dissonant.

Merci aux collaborateurs de ce projet

Calq_noir.png

Citoyens engagés

des ruelles vertes de Villeray